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Continuous Announcement 
 

LABORATORY TECHNICIAN II – 20912 
 

Salary:  $23,527.20 - $34,080.00 
Announcement Date: November 6, 2006 

Revised Date: October 3, 2018 
JOB INFORMATION 
The Laboratory Technician II is a permanent, full-time position used by various agencies throughout the state.  This 
is technical work in performing laboratory functions in a specialized area and in the caring for and using basic 
laboratory equipment.   
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• For the Promotional register: current, permanent status as a Laboratory Technician I 
• Graduation from a standard senior high school preferably including courses in laboratory science or general math 
• Two years of experience in performing routine laboratory work such as preparing specimens for bacteriological, 

chemical, and physical tests, conducting laboratory record keeping, and operating various standard and specialized 
laboratory instruments and equipment 

OR 
• Graduation from an accredited* four year college or university with major coursework in a biological, chemical, 

or physical science 
 
NOTES    
• Employees in this class may be exposed to biological hazards or caustic materials. 
• If your application states that you have a college degree, the Alabama Department of Public Health requires 

documentation of the degree prior to employment.  
 

EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants and Promotional to current state employees in the classification listed above.  
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 100% of the final score 

for the open-competitive register and 90% of the final score for the promotional register.  The remaining 10% of 
the promotional score will be based on the average of the applicant’s service ratings for the last three years.   
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov , the above address, or 

any Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Apply by mail or by fax.   Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is 

not responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
Veteran’s credits are NOT allowed on promotional examinations 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for acceptingpost-secondary and 

advanced degrees. 
 



 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 
information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be 
given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a 
register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-
9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who 
is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or employment in a position in State service 
for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 
Department. 

 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 
Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 

will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United 
States listed below: 

 
• Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
• Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)) 
• Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
• Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
• New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
• Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above listed regional accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited 
school accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will 
accept the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will 
accept the college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary 
degree (e.g., a bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally 
accredited school.   State Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 
Note:  This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the above listed 
accreditation associations. 

 
 


