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Continuous Announcement 
 

ABC ENFORCEMENT AGENT - 60331 
 

Salary:  $35,589.60 - $59,517.60 
Announcement Date: July 18, 2007 

Revised Date: October 22, 2008 
 

JOB INFORMATION 
The ABC Enforcement Agent is a permanent full-time position with the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.  Positions are located 
throughout the state. This is technical law enforcement field work involving inspection and investigative activities concerned with 
state alcoholic beverage laws, state narcotic laws, and ABC rules and regulations.  
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• High school diploma or GED 
• Two (2) years of law enforcement experience 

 

NOTES 
• Applicants must be 21 years of age in order to perform the duties required in the handling of alcoholic beverages. 
• Experience in security, safety, corrections, or jail guard work is not acceptable. 
• One year of college coursework from an accredited* college or university, including at least three (3) courses in a social science 

such as criminology, criminal justice, or sociology may substitute for one (1) year of the required experience (coursework must be 
included on application). 

• Military law enforcement experience at the rank of E-5 or above may substitute for the required experience. 
• Applicants’ availability for employment location on the Application for Examination should indicate “95-Statewide” since all 

ABC Enforcement Agents appointed by the ABC Board must be available to live in any location in the state. 
• Employees in this classification may have 24 hour on-call responsibility and may be required to work nights, weekends, and/or 

holidays. 
 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS    
• Applicants must meet the requirements of the Alabama Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission for law enforcement 

officers during the probationary period. 
• Applicants must possess or be able to obtain an Alabama driver’s license at the time of appointment. 
• Applicants considered for hire will be required to pass a physical proficiency test, as well as a thorough background investigation, 

including a drug screen. 
 

BENEFITS 
• Low-Cost Health/Dental Insurance (Single Coverage) • Optional Family Coverage (Health/Dental) 
• Accrue Thirteen Annual Leave Days per Year • Accrue Thirteen Sick Days per Year 
• Thirteen Paid Holidays per Year • Retirement Plan 
• Flexible Employee Benefit Plans • Optional Deferred Compensation Plans 

  

EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants  
• Written Multiple Choice Exam  
• The How to Prepare guide for this examination is available on our web site listed above.  Please contact State Personnel if 

you wish to have a guide mailed to you. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 
• Apply by mail or by fax.   Applications will be accepted until further notice. 

 
Individuals currently on the register MUST reapply to remain eligible for employment. 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees.  



 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 
information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given an 
examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  Or four, 
your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code 
of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of 
misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be required to forfeit their office or 
position for five years. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 
Department. 

 
 

 
State of Alabama Personnel Department Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced 
Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees will be 
accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States.  These 
associations are listed below. 
 
• Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
• Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA) 
• Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
• North Central Association of Colleges and Schools – The  Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC) 
• New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-CIHE) 
• Western Association of Schools and Colleges – Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities (WASC-

ACSCU) 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by a regional accreditation association will be accepted 
if a regionally accredited school considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable prerequisite for admission to an 
advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for 
admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  In the case of required college coursework 
(but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the 
coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance 
from the regionally accredited school.   State Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
 


