State of Alabama
Personnel Department
64 North Union Street
P. O. Box 304100
Montgomery, AL 36130-4100
Phone: (334) 242-3389
Fax: (334) 242-1110
www.personnel.alabama.gov

Current Announcement

PORT POLICE LIEUTENANT - 60643

Salary: $41,258.40 - $65,690.40
Announcement Date: August 18, 2010
Application Deadline: September 8, 2010

JOB INFORMATION
The Port Police Lieutenant is a permanent full-time position with the Alabama State Port Authority. The position is

located in Mobile, Alabama. This is highly responsible law enforcement work conducting investigations of suspected
violations of state and federal law, and managing the training programs for all law enforcement personnel at the Alabama

State Port Authority.
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS
e Current permanent status as a Port Police Sergeant (60634)

e High School Diploma or GED
o Five years of law enforcement experience by the application deadline date listed above.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
o Valid Transportation Worker Identification Credential card at time of appointment

o Valid Alabama driver’s license at time of appointment

NOTES
o A background investigation will be conducted prior to making hiring decisions.

o Employee may be required to work after hours and/or weekends/holidays/emergencies.

BENEFITS
o[ ow-Cost Health/Dental Insurance (Single Coverage)

eAccrue Thirteen Annual Leave Days per Year
e Thirteen Paid Holidays per Year
oFlexible Employee Benefit Plans

EXAMINATION

e Promotional to current state employees in the classification listed above.

o Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 95% of the applicant’s final score
for the promotional register, with 5% being based on the average of the applicant’s service ratings for the last three
years. Therefore, all sections of the application must be complete and applicants must provide a detailed description of

their duties.

HOW TO APPLY
= Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any

Alabama Career Center Office.
= Apply by mail or by fax.

o Optional Family Coverage (Health/Dental)
o Accrue Thirteen Sick Days per Year

¢ Retirement Plan

e Optional Deferred Compensation Plans

Veteran’s credits are NOT allowed on promotional examinations.
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Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or
indirectly obtain information about examinations. If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several
things. One, you may not be given an examination. Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.
Three, your name may be removed from a register. Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.
(Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9). According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful
violation of exam security is a misdemeanor. Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will
not get a state job. If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be required to forfeit their office or
position for five years.

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State
Personnel Department.

State of Alabama Personnel Department Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and
Advanced Degrees

1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and
doctoral degrees will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation
associations in the United States. These associations are listed below.

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)

Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA)

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools — The Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC)
New England Association of Schools and Colleges — Commission on Institutions of Higher Education
(NEASC-CIHE)

e  Western Association of Schools and Colleges — Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and
Universities (WASC-ACSCU)

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by a regional accreditation association
will be accepted if a regionally accredited school considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable
prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program. For example, if a regionally accredited school
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will
accept the degree. In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel
will accept the college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-
secondary degree (e.g., a bachelor’s degree). This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the
regionally accredited school. State Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis.

Note: This policy is subject to change. Certain state agencies may have additional requirements.



