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Continuous Announcement 
 

MINE INSPECTOR - 61321 
 

Salary:  $37,389.60 - $56,685.60 

Announcement Date: May 21, 2014 

 
 

JOB INFORMATION 

The Mine Inspector is a permanent full-time position with the Department of Labor.  Positions are located in Birmingham. This 

is technical work involving the responsibility for inspection of mines and for enforcing state laws, rules and regulations 

concerning health safety.   
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

• High School diploma/GED 

• Eight years of experience in coal mining operations 
 

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS 

• Applicants must be at least 28 years of age at the time of appointment. 

• Applicants must possess a mine foreman certificate of competency from the State of Alabama. 
 

EXAMINATION 

 Open-Competitive to all applicants  

 Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application 
 

HOW TO APPLY 

• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 

• Apply by mail or by fax.   Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 

Individuals currently on the register MUST reapply to remain eligible for employment. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 

information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be 

given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a 

register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-

9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who 

is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be 

required to forfeit their office or position for five years. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 

Department. 

 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 

pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

State of Alabama Personnel Department Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced 

Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 

will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States.  

These associations are listed below. 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 North Central Association of Colleges and Schools – The  Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC) 

 New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-

CIHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges – Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities 

(WASC-ACSCU) 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by a regional accreditation association will be 

accepted if a regionally accredited school considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable prerequisite for 

admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an applicant’s 

bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  In the case of 

required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college coursework if a 

regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a bachelor’s degree).  This 

must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State Personnel will review such 

requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
 


