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Continuous Announcement 
 

SERVICE SUPERVISOR - 50223 
 

Salary:  $35,589.60 - $53,995.20 
Announcement Date: March 3, 2010 

 
JOB INFORMATION 
The Service Supervisor is a permanent full-time position with the Department of Human Resources.  Positions are located throughout 
the state. This is supervisory service social work.  Employees in this class plan, organize, and supervise child protective services, adult 
protective services, Medicaid waiver, child and adult foster care, and/or adoption operations within a county Human Resources office.  
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• For the promotional register, current permanent status as a Social Worker or Social Service Caseworker with the Department of 

Human Resources 
• Bachelor’s degree from an accredited* four year college or university in any major AND three (3) years of professional social work 

experience  in child protective services, adult protective services, child/adult foster care, and/or adoption operations  
 

OR 
 

• Bachelor’s degree from an accredited* four year college or university AND 30 semester or 45 quarter hours in social or behavioral 
science courses AND two (2) years of professional social work experience in child protective services, adult protective services, 
child/adult foster care, and/or adoption operations.  Please submit a transcript or list of all social or behavioral science courses 
completed. 

 
 

NOTE    
• A Masters Degree in Social Work from a social work program accredited* by the Council on Social Work Education will substitute 

for one year of the required professional experience in child protective services, adult protective services, child/adult foster care, 
and/or adoption operations. 
 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
• Per Alabama Act Number 2000-775, beginning November 1, 2000, persons who apply for child welfare jobs will be

subjected to a criminal background investigation prior to employment with the Department of Human Resources. 
• Applicants must have available, suitable transportation for use on the job 
 

 

 

BENEFITS 
• Low-Cost Health/Dental Insurance (Single Coverage) • Optional Family Coverage (Health/Dental) 
• Accrue Thirteen Annual Leave Days per Year • Accrue Thirteen Sick Days per Year 
• Thirteen Paid Holidays per Year • Retirement Plan 
• Flexible Employee Benefit Plans • Optional Deferred Compensation Plans 

  

EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants and Promotional to current state employees with the Department of Human Resources in the 

job classes listed above 
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 90% of the applicant’s final score for 

the promotional register, with the remaining 10% being based on the average of the applicant’s service ratings for the last 
three years.  Scores from the Evaluation of Training and Experience will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-
competitive register. 

HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 
• Apply by mail or by fax.   Applications will be accepted until further notice. 

 
Individuals currently on the register MUST reapply to remain eligible for employment. 

Veteran’s credits are NOT allowed on promotional examinations. 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 
post-secondary and advanced degrees.  



 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 
information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be 
given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a 
register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-
9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who 
is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be 
required to forfeit their office or position for five years. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 
Department. 

 
 

 
State of Alabama Personnel Department Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced 
Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 
will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States.  
These associations are listed below. 
 
• Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
• Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA) 
• Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
• North Central Association of Colleges and Schools – The  Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC) 
• New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC-

CIHE) 
• Western Association of Schools and Colleges – Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities 

(WASC-ACSCU) 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by a regional accreditation association will be 
accepted if a regionally accredited school considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable prerequisite for 
admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an applicant’s 
bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  In the case of 
required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college coursework if a 
regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a bachelor’s degree).  This 
must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State Personnel will review such 
requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
 


