
Announcement Date:  March 5, 2008 
 

State of Alabama 
Personnel Department 
64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 
Montgomery, AL  36130-4100 

(334) 242-3389 
Internet:  www.personnel.state.al.us 

 
CONSERVATION ENFORCEMENT OFFICER AREA SERGEANT – 70802 

MARINE POLICE – 141 
$37,960.80 - $63,468.00 

 
Department:  Conservation and Natural Resources 

Location:  Statewide 
 

TYPE OF EXAMINATION 
A promotional register will be established for applicants who meet the minimum qualifications listed 
below. Qualified applicants may be required to complete a supplemental questionnaire. This evaluation of 
training and experience will constitute 95% of the final grade and an average of service ratings for the last 
three years will constitute the remaining 5%. 
 

QUALIFICATIONS NEEDED TO APPLY 
You must have all of the following to qualify: 
• Current permanent status as a Conservation Enforcement Officer with the Marine Police Division. 
• High school diploma or GED. 
• Two years of experience in the enforcement of conservation laws and regulations in the Marine 

Police Division. 
 

KIND OF WORK 
Employees in this class perform duties in wildlife and freshwater fisheries, marine resources, or marine 
police and other law enforcement activities in an assigned geographical area of a district. Under limited 
supervision, performs duties of a law enforcement supervisor and assists a district supervisor with 
administrative duties as directed. Work includes interpreting laws and regulations for the public, 
investigating conservation complaints, and apprehension of violators. Work is performed outdoors under 
varied conditions which may occasionally create physical hardships. Special assignments and instructions 
are given as necessary by a superior officer who makes personal inspections of field work, assists in more 
complex enforcement problems, and regularly reviews reports of enforcement activities. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 

Use an Application for Examination form.  You can get the form at this office or at an Alabama Career 
Center office.  It can also be downloaded from our web site.  You must send your application to the State 
Personnel Department.  It must be received by the close of business on March 26, 2008.  Applications 
received after this date WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.  The names of those who apply late will be put on 
a mailing list to be notified when this job is again open for applications.  The State Personnel Department 
is not responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail services or fax malfunctions.  Photocopied 
applications are accepted.  Facsimile applications are also accepted.  Our fax number is (334) 242-1110. 
 

Veteran’s credits are NOT allowed on promotional examinations. 
Individuals currently on the register MUST reapply to remain eligible for employment. 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement or the State Personnel Department web site for complete 
information on our policy for accepting post-secondary and advanced degrees. 

http://www.personnel.state.al.us/


Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or 
indirectly obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several 
things.  One, you may not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  
Three, your name may be removed from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the 
register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-
26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of 
misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be required 
to forfeit their office or position for five years. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the 
State Personnel Department. 

 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 
 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 

 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and 
doctoral degrees will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation 
associations in the United States.  These associations are listed below. 
 

• Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
• Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA) 
• Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
• North Central Association of Colleges and Schools – The  Higher Learning Commission (NCA-

HLC) 
• New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher 

Education (NEASC-CIHE) 
• Western Association of Schools and Colleges – Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and 

Universities (WASC-ACSCU) 
 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by a regional accreditation 
association will be accepted if a regionally accredited school considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally 
accredited school accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, 
State Personnel will accept the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree 
requirement), State Personnel will accept the college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts 
the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented 
by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State Personnel will review such 
requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
 


