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Continuous Announcement 
 

HUMAN RESOURCES PROGRAM MANAGER – 50229 

CHILDCARE SERVICES OPTION - 450 
 

Salary: $45,501.60 - $69,098.40 

Announcement Date: September 30, 2015 
 

JOB INFORMATION 

The Human Resources Program Manager – Childcare Services option  is a permanent full-time position with the Department of 

Human Resources. Positions are located throughout the state. This is responsible professional management work in directing, 

planning and reviewing the activities and operations of one or more county programs in larger or largest county departments. 
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

• For the promotional register, applicants must have current permanent status as a Human Resource Program Specialist or 

Human Resource Program Supervisor with the Department of Human Resources, in addition to the qualifications listed 

below 

• Graduation from an accredited* four year college or university with a Bachelor’s degree in Child Development, Early 

Childhood Education, Home Economics with a specialization in Child Development or a closely related field  

• Five years of increasingly responsible experience in teaching pre-elementary children, directing day care activities, or 

licensing day care facilities through a public welfare agency, to include one year of administrative or supervisory 

experience in a public welfare agency  

OR 
 

• Graduation from an accredited* four year college or university with a Master’s degree in Child Development, Early 

Childhood Education, Home Economics with a specialization in Child Development or a closely related field  

• Four years of increasingly responsible experience in teaching pre-elementary children, directing day care activities, or 

licensing day care facilities through a public welfare agency, to include one year of administrative or supervisory 

experience in a public welfare agency. 
 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENT 

• Applicants must possess a valid Alabama driver license at the time of appointment. 
 

 

 NOTE 

• Per Alabama Act Number 2000-775, beginning November 1, 2000, persons who apply for child welfare jobs will be 

subjected to a criminal background investigation prior to employment with the Department of Human Resources.  
 

EXAMINATION 

• Open-Competitive to all applicants and Promotional to current state employees with permanent status as a Human 

Resource Program Specialist or Human Resource Program Supervisor with the Department of Human Resources. 

• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 95% of the applicant’s final score 

for the promotional register, with the remaining 5% being based on the average of the applicant’s service ratings for the last 

three years.  Scores from the Evaluation of Training and Experience will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-

competitive register. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 

• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 

• Apply by mail or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

Veteran’s credits are NOT allowed on promotional examinations. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 

information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given 

an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  

Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According 

to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of 

this type of misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be required to 

forfeit their office or position for five years. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 

Department. 

 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant 

to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 

will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States 

listed below: 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 

 New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education               

(NEASC-CIHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above listed regional accreditation 

associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable 

prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an 

applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  

In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college 

coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 

bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 

Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note:  This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the above listed 

accreditation associations. 


