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Continuous Announcement 
 

ALEA PILOT, SENIOR – 60686 
 

Salary: $55,327.20 - $84,276.00 

Announcement Date:  December 23, 2015 
 

JOB INFORMATION 

ALEA Pilot, Senior is a permanent full-time position with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA).  Positions are located 

throughout the state.  This is technical, highly responsible, and professional law enforcement work in the operation of single-

engine and multi-engine airplanes and turbine-powered helicopters. 
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

Applicants must have all of the following to qualify: 

• High school graduation or GED equivalency 

• Three years of experience in technical aviation work 

• 3,000 hours of total flight time to include 2,000 hours of Pilot-in-Command flight time and 1,500 hours in helicopters and 100 

hours of recent multi-engine aircraft operation 

• For the promotional register, current permanent status as a Trooper Pilot I (60245) or an ALEA Pilot (60685) 
 

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS 

 Overnight travel is required. 

 Applicants must be available to be on-call 24/7. 

 Candidates must possess a valid Alabama driver license at the time of appointment.  

 Candidates must meet the established requirements of the Alabama Peace Officers Standards and Training Act during the  

    probationary period. 

 Candidates must possess a valid commercial pilot license rated for operation of single-engine airplanes, multi-engine 

airplanes, and helicopters with an instrument rating. 

 Candidates must possess a current flight physical, Class II evaluation. 

    

 Applicants must submit a copy of the front and back of his/her Pilot Certificate issued by the Federal Aviation 

  Administration, current Medical Certificate, and current bi-annual flight review.  Applications submitted without  

  copies of these documents cannot be processed and will be rejected. 

 Applicants must specify on the application the total number of Pilot-in-Command flight hours, Pilot-in-Command 

flight hours in helicopters, and flight hours in multi-engine aircraft. 
 

 

EXAMINATION 

 Open-Competitive to all applicants and Promotional to current state employees in the classifications listed above 

 An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 95% of the applicant’s final score for 

the promotional register, with the remaining 5% being based on the average of the applicant’s service ratings for the last three 

years.  Scores from the Training and Experience Evaluation will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive 

register. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 

• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama 

Career Center Office. 

• Apply by mail or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible 

for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

Individuals currently on the Trooper Pilot II (60247) register MUST reapply to remain eligible for employment. 

Veteran’s credits are NOT allowed on promotional examinations. 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 

information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given 

an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  

Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According 

to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of 

this type of misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be required to 

forfeit their office or position for five years. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 

Department. 

 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant 

to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 

will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States 

listed below: 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 

 New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education               

(NEASC-CIHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above listed regional accreditation 

associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable 

prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an 

applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  

In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college 

coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 

bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 

Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note:  This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the above listed 

accreditation associations. 


