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Continuous Announcement 
 

LAND RECLAMATION INSPECTOR II – 61311 
SCIENCE OPTION - 074 

 
Salary: $37,389.60 - $59,556.00 

Announcement Date: August 30, 2006 
Revised Date: October 2, 2019 

 
JOB INFORMATION 
The Land Reclamation Inspector II – Science Option is a permanent, full-time position used by the Surface Mining Commission 
and the Department of Labor.  Positions are located throughout the state.  This is responsible technical work in enforcing the state 
surface mine reclamation laws or in developing projects for restoration of abandoned mine lands. 
 
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
• Bachelor’s degree from an accredited* four-year college or university with major coursework in agronomy, botany, agriculture, 

forestry, biology, fish/wildlife biology, conservation, environment, silviculture, ecology, chemistry, water resources, or a 
closely related field 

• At least one year of experience in one of the above fields related to land reclamation or environmental restoration 
 
NOTE 
• Experience in one of the above fields related to land reclamation or environmental restoration above the minimum will substitute 

for the required four-year degree on a year-for-year basis. 
 

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS 
• Possession of a valid Alabama driver license 
• Applicants may be required to complete a 40-hour certification blasting training program during the probationary period. 

 
EXAMINATION 
• Open-Competitive to all applicants 
• An Evaluation of Training and Experience as shown on the application will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-

competitive register. 
 
HOW TO APPLY 
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 
• Apply on-line, by mail, or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not 

responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 
 

 
THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees. 
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Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 

 


