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Continuous Announcement 
 

MENTAL HEALTH WORKER I - 40131 
 

Salary: $20,174.40 - $30,724.80 

Announcement Date: June 22, 2016 

 

 

JOB INFORMATION 

The Mental Health Worker I is a permanent full-time position with the Department of Mental Health.  This position is located at 

three facilities in Tuscaloosa, AL.  This is beginning level work in training for the care, habilitation, and rehabilitation of persons 

with mental illness.  No examination is required.  No employment register is maintained.  Applicants meeting the qualifications 

below may apply directly to the Personnel Office of Bryce Psychiatric Hospital, Taylor Hardin Secure Medical Facility, or Mary 

Starke Harper Geriatric Psychiatry Center or to the State Personnel Department to be placed on the direct appointment list for 

Mental Health Worker I. 
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENT 

• High school diploma or GED 

 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENT 

Some positions may require possession of a valid Alabama Driver’s License. 

 

NOTES 

 Employees in this class may work day, evening, or night shifts and/or weekends including holidays. 

 Working overtime is mandatory on a rotating basis. 
 

EXAMINATION 

 No examination is required. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 

• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 

• Application for this class may be submitted directly to the State Personnel Department or the Department of Mental Health 

Facility Personnel Offices in person, by mail, or by fax.  Applications may be submitted online to the State Personnel 

Department at www.personnel.alabama.gov. 

Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of 

applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 

information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given 

an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  

Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According 

to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of 

this type of misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be required to 

forfeit their office or position for five years. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 

Department. 

 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant 

to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 

will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States 

listed below: 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 

 New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education               

(NEASC-CIHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above listed regional accreditation 

associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable 

prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an 

applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  

In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college 

coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 

bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 

Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note:  This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the above listed 

accreditation associations. 

 
 


